top of page

Brain Cupcakes


I love cupcakes so much that I was debating getting one tattooed on me - I still am. So if there is ever a chance that I can make some delicious themed cupcakes I am usually on board!


For Halloween one year I put together brain and skull cupcakes and I was pretty damn proud of them. Check out the recipe below so that you can make your own - but please note, I made these cupcakes before I turned vegan which is why there is eggs and butter listed in the ingredients. Nowadays I whole-heartedly suggest using a vegan egg substitute and Nuttlex instead of butter - let's save the animals some pain!


CUPCAKE INGREDIENTS:

  • Cupcake Mix (I know, I’m a cheater!)

  • 4 Tablespoons butter

  • 1/2 cup water

  • 2 eggs

  • 12 Baking Liners and Skull based aprons (My cupcake pack came with them. You might have to find some online!)

CUPCAKE METHOD:


1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees celcius. Line a cupcake baking tray with baking liners to match the cupcake skirts.

2. Using an electric mixer, combine the cupcake mix, water, butter and eggs in a mixing bowl until there are no clumps in the batter. Distribute batter evenly throughout the cupcake liners.

3. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the cupcake centre comes out clean. Cool the cupcakes completely before frosting.

4. Assemble cupcake skirts to be placed around the cupcake and sit each cupcake in one apron.



ICING INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups Powered Sugar

  • Pink Food Colouring

  • 8 Tablespoons butter

  • 2 Tablespoons milk

ICING METHOD:


1. Beat the butter until creamy using an egg beater,

2. Add powdered sugar to the mix and beat on low until combined.

3. Add milk and beat on high until the whole mixture is creamy. Add a small amount of pink food colouring to create the soft pink brain colour.

4. Fill a piping bag with the pink icing using a spatula. Cut the tip off the bag and twist the top, ensuring easier use of the piping bag.

5. Pipe a base of frosting on each cupcake and spread. Next, start at one end of the cupcake top and make a line of frosting down the middle. Then zig zag back to where you started on one side of the cupcake, stop, and then mirror the zig zag on the other side to create the brain pattern.

6. Serve on a cupcake stand and enjoy!


Since I actually made these cupcakes myself, I am super eager to see if you guys do the same. Let me know what you think by leaving a comment in the description section below!

On Sale Now
bottom of page