top of page

Wiccan Rituals: Finding Your Moon Sign



If you opened a magazine at any point in your life you would have likely seen your horoscope - an astrology based sign that depicts different aspects of your personality, your traits, and your passions. For example, I was born on the 31st July which makes me a Leo. The generalised traits of a Leo sum me up pretty well, being loud, creative and passionate.


But I have recently discovered though that while we can have star signs (or these are better referred to as "sun signs") we also have moon signs, which are a completely different astrological character. Sun or star signs are determined by your date of birth, but moon signs are determined by where the moon was at the time of your birth. In astrology, your sun sign depicts your zodiac personality, but your moon sign represents your emotions and your inner mood. The two work together to influence your emotional mode of operation and being.


For example, I was born on the 31 July 1990, which makes my zodiac sign a Leo. Leo traits depict that they are warm, action-oriented and driven by the desire to be loved and admired. They enjoy being in the spotlight and are great performers, who have very creative energies about them. They are big-hearted, energetic, optimistic and loyal, while also being head-strong, possessive and impatient. This star sign suits me to a tee.


The time I was born was 10.30am (my mother has been very adamant I wanted morning tea) so my moon sign actually depicts that I am a Scorpio. The characteristics of having a Scorpio moon sign is that intensity of emotional experiences are what drives me at the core and I will be known to have experiences of both extreme pleasure and extreme pain. I am not pursued easily, am prone to obsessions, and that my emotions can live at such a deep level that sometimes when they erupt it surprises everyone (including myself) at home ruthless or destructive I am capable of being. This is very me.


My moon sign also states that the underworld has a very powerful pull over my emotions and that I am fascinated by the darker side of life, with the occult and sexuality being arenas in which I satisfy these needs. This was a very interesting observation in my moon sign, as I am indeed quite a very dark person and a very sexual person.


Putting the general personalities of the sun sign and the moon sign together are a very good indication of your personality as a whole and I definitely suggest you have a look at what your moon sign says about you, even if you take it with a grain of salt. If you want to give it a go, I suggest you have a look at Astrocal for the information and let me know how you go - is it accurate? Leave me a message in the comments section below!

On Sale Now
bottom of page